It was an eye opening experience yesterday, attempting, for the first time, to direct my attention to God at least once out of every minute.  I’ve done this before when on personal spiritual retreats, but never during a normal workday, or while hanging out at home with the family.

The morning stated out great, which surprised me, because I’m not a morning person, and I don’t like using any of my faculties in the morning, except maybe the ability to swallow coffee.  Strangely though, I found it easy to mentally mumble something to God every few seconds: “Thank you that I’m healthy this morning.  Thanks for this breakfast.  Please give me wisdom today.”  Even more strangely, I found that not long after waking up, I was actually in a good mood, instead of my usual mood of the morning, which is neutral bordering on crotchety.  I spoke more than 10 words to my family before heading out to work, and many of them had more than one syllable.

As I arrived at work, and for the first few hours, I felt unusually energized; not in a cheesy, motivational poster, power-tie-wearing kind of way, but in a positive, ready to work, ready to get the job done kind of way.  I had lots of external agendas coming at me, derailing my own personal agenda, and while this would normally have made me feel highly impatient and righteously indignant at other people’s failure to realize that I have things to do, instead, I took them all in stride without irritation.

As the day progressed, it became more difficult to keep thinking about or talking to God every minute.  I’d get wrapped up in reading something or in a conversation and realize that five minutes had gone by.  This continued to be difficult through the afternoon and evening, but in spite of that, I was aware of a sense of comfort in knowing that God was right there, that He was accessible to me at any moment, and that all I had to do was speak and He’d hear.

I have a very full plate today, and the next two weeks look to be very busy, and so this will be a challenge.  Martin Luther is credited with saying “I have so much to do that I shall spend the first three hours in prayer,” which means that a full plate is a poor reason to pray less.

