This wasn’t as easy as Day 1 was.  Of course, it wasn’t helped by the fact that I didn’t get much sleep due to the fact that my wife is coming down with something and was in and out of bed a lot.  Being tired isn’t good for focus.  I found myself getting distracted a lot today.  I’d go 10 minutes, maybe more, and realize I hadn’t thought about God.

I did still, at times, feel a sense of His closeness with me, and I’m remembering today that a guy named Brother Lawrence wrote a book called The Practice of the Presence of God, and as a heightened awareness of God’s presence with me is one of the goals of this Experiment, maybe I should read that.  Have any of you read it?  Is it any good?

I also experienced the first temptation to quit today.  It was fleeting and quiet, and I didn’t take it even remotely seriously.  In fact, I was surprised when the thought entered my head, as though it wasn’t me thinking it, but I immediately dismissed it and it was gone as quickly as it came.  I’m sure this won’t be the first time.

EDIT: I just discovered that you can read The Practice of the Presence of God for free by going to this site.

