When you woke up this morning, did you open your eyes to see a world that is exactly how you want it to be?  When you looked in the mirror, did you see a person that is the ideal of humanity?  If you did, then please call Oprah.  She’ll want to interview you.

I, on the other hand, did not, and no offense, but I’m guessing that most of you would join me under the heading “The Rest Of Us.”  We live in broken bodies, thinking broken thoughts, wanting with broken wants, feeling with broken hearts, and walking on a broken earth. We say wounding things in a moment of thoughtlessness.  Girls are kidnapped and sold for sick pleasures.  Earthquakes are shaking people’s lives to rubble.  All we can do on our own is apply bandages (which, Paul says in Philippians 3 are nothing more than dirty rags) which do nothing to bring about any healing whatsoever.

But, for The Rest Of Us, there’s hope.

God really does change things in response to our prayers, and even though I stated that this Experiment isn’t about whether or not God responds to prayers, seeing Him come through has always been a pleasant surprise for me (and I hope that someday, it will no longer surprise me, but still thrill me).  Even though this Experiment is only 4 weeks young, I’m here to tell you: God answers prayer.

I could record all of these prayers and answers in a moleskine kept on my nightstand, but I chose to preserve these interactions in a more public way because I want you to know that there is a God, and that He does answer prayer, and that He does bring about the changes that we are powerless to affect.  I want to put God on display so that you can watch and be encouraged to talk to Him, and find great hope.

What is in your world or your mind or heart that you feel powerless to change?

