I am, occupationally speaking (and regarding ability), first and foremost, a musician. In college, a music major has to play for juries once in a while, and those can be nerve wracking experiences. You’re up on stage, letting it all hang out, and lots of people are watching, some of them watching with the specific goal of picking apart your performance. And of course, the point wasn’t so much to find fault, but to offer criticism that would be helpful in the future.

So here I am, on a virtual stage, and using a different medium, but inviting your critique. My blog is still fairly new, and it’s had some rough going lately, being usurped by a hectic schedule. I also think that it’s veered slightly off of its original course, and that this has probably been a good thing.

If you are here, ready to offer some criticism (constructive or otherwise), then I want to thank you very much for you valuable time and input. I have 6 areas of concern that I’d appreciate some input on:

1. Writing Style

As I look back, I can see that my writing is a little schizophrenic. Sometimes I use a very conversational tone in an attempt to be winsome and engaging. Other times, I resort to a more scholarly and sesquipedalian tone, because I read authors who write that way and sometimes enjoy it. (“Sesquipedalian” means that you use big words, so if you use the word “sesquipedalian” to describe yourself, it becomes self-fulfilling.)

Is it okay that I go back and forth between styles?

If I should stick to one style, which one?

2. Discussion Generating

This is related to writing style.  I’ve been told in other settings that I can have a tendency to cover too much so that there’s no room left for discussion.

Do you find that the posts here leave no room for discussion?

How could I generate more discussion (via comments)?

3. Personal or General

I began writing this to document a personal experience with prayer –but with the goal of motivation others to pray more.  Do I need to shorten the length of the accounts of my personal experiences / feelings / etc.?

And no, it won’t hurt my feelings if you tell me to quit talking about myself.  After all, I don’t want people to come away from this blog thinking that I’m great, but that God is great, and that praying to Him is great.

4. Thought Provoking and Motivational

Again, I want for people to be motivated to integrate more prayer into their lives as a result of having read this blog.

Do you find that my posts are thought provoking?

More than that, do they provoke thoughts that lead to action?

5. Layout and Design

At this point, I’m going with WordPress.com’s free hosting, and I’m limited to their themes and the controls they allow.  I’m seriously considering going to a paid site so that I can have complete control.

Is the current layout and design good enough?

If not, what changes would you recommend?

6. Other Feedback

Is there other feedback you would like to offer?  Anything is fair game here.

Again, I thank you very much for your time and input.  It means a great deal to me.

